Skip to content

Who cares Wins

April 10, 2010

Last year I set out to find answers to one simple question – What part of her family life does the Indian home-maker love the most? Such questions are often asked in agencies, what with almost every product hoping to make its way to the home-makers’ shopping lists and every brand hoping to find a cosy spot in their minds. This was no different. Oh the speculation. We’ve seen our mums and grannies and sisters and cousins and ourselves and it’s not hard to imagine what the happy moments must comprise. Each one of those imaginable answers is valid. But it was fun to ask them anyway. Just to see which memory takes the cake? It was usually an unassuming one, plain and ordinary, but riding ahead of all other thoughts. They didn’t even need to be asked. These front-runners of their minds tumbled out as if dying to be relived.  Imprints of love have more mileage than any other. We all know that.

I can’t come up with any happy memories of my own tonight. So I decided to dig some of these up. They never fail to amuse me and make me wonder all over again… what would the story behind each of these memories be like?  

‘My in-laws and their extended family had come over… even though my husband made arrangements, he was too busy to participate… so I took them on a trip around Gujarat and handled all the planning and decision-making and really tried to take care of their comfort … so my mother-in-law went  – you’re like my third son!’

‘My father-in-law had great confidence in me, he’d be the first person to say “she can handle anything on her own” and never doubted my ability to shoulder any responsibility’

‘My parents had come to visit. My husband unexpectedly took leave from work and all and took us all on a trip and he took it upon himself to entertain my parents. I felt really cared for that day.

‘My husband booked me a spa session on valentine’s day as a surprise… I myself had never been to a spa even though I kept thinking it’d be the thing to do…’    

‘This one time my son saw that I was extremely tired and offered to make me breakfast… he can’t even serve himself food normally…’

‘My husband reads out peaceful, spiritual things to help me calm down, it’s the best stress-buster’

‘My mother in law was illiterate but very religious. My father in law used to sing/read out religious verses to her in the afternoon’

‘My husband took my parents for a movie. My dad had always refused to enter a theatre, he was a traditional reserved man but my husband managed to persuade him anyway and there were no complains’

‘You’ll be surprised to know that I don’t have the patience to make tea for my husband according to his timings so I just put it in a flask but every Sunday he wakes me up with steaming hot tea – no matter what…’

‘My husband was far away on our anniversary I was actually expecting to spend it alone. Last minute he took a bunch of flights and trains and god knows what he did but the doorbell rang in the morning and I opened the door to find him standing there with a bouquet…it was out of a movie’

‘There was a time when my husband stood up against his own family members in support for my father. That day I was grateful to God that I’m married to someone who sees my family to be his too’

‘On valentines day my husband filled a friend’s gazebo with flowers, teddy bears and candles and surprised me by taking me there… I’m a fan of these things’

‘I can’t cook. He doesn’t expect me to cook. He’s a foodie mind you. I could NOT have asked for anything more’

‘On our anniversary I had been visiting my mother’s house. When I came home my husband and family literally swooped me up in their arms and surprised me with a decorated house and a small party going. I thought they had lost their minds…’

‘My daughter gave me a surprise b’day party at 12 in the night just between the two of us. She had put balloons and cake in a room and bought me a lil present. It was silly but sweet.’

‘My husband made it a point to teach me how to drive after we got married so that I could have my independence. I would’ve never learnt otherwise and I am really glad I have this freedom.’

‘My husband cooks really well even though he doesn’t need to do it on a regular basis. Sometimes when I’m tired from work though, he himself takes the initiative of cooking for our whole family of seven. I don’t even have to ask’

 ‘My husband always catches me off guard.  He knows me well… when I’m least expecting something he surprises me with it… like say I’ll find him waiting for me somewhere or he’ll still sometimes take my hand while walking… it helps to know that I’m on his mind as well…apart from other things… ”

 And men thought their wives bitched bout them the first chance they got.

One Comment leave one →
  1. robertfrust permalink
    May 6, 2010 11:47 AM

    Hey, great post! You must have taken a pretty large sample there.

Leave a Reply

